Sign up for TLA newsletter

Fill out your e-mail address
to receive our newsletter!
E-mail :


Urban Culture News Eighth Annual Native American Music Awards
Eighth Annual Native American Music Awards PDF Print E-mail
Written by Robert ID2646   
Tuesday, 23 May 2006 07:46

The Eighth Annual Native American Music Awards, or Nammys, is proud to announce the nominees for this year's Awards program. Over 125 nominees with origins as far as Alaska (Medicine Dream), Hawaii (Keola Beamer), and New Zealand (Arjdijah), are featured in 25 Awards categories.

Topping this year's nominations are; Keith Secola (Anishinabe) for his recording "Native Americana" featuring drummer John Densmore, Rita Coolidge (Cherokee) for "And So Is Love," Jim Boyd (Colville) for "Them Old Guitars", and Brule"s "The Collection" with four nominations each. Douglas Blue Feather (Cherokee), Gary Small (Northern Cheyenne), Gil Silverbird (Apache), Jana (Lumbee), Pura Fe" (Tuscarora), and Wade Fernandez (Menominee) garnered three nominations each. Earning two nominations each are; Arvel Bird (Paiute/Metis), Eagle & Hawk (Ojibway), Joanne Shenandoah (Oneida), Joseph Firecrow (Cheyenne), Marlena (Navajo Dine"), Radmilla Cody, (Dine"), Tommy Wildcat (Cherokee), drum groups Northern Cree and Black Lodge and new artists; AIRO (Sioux/Apache), Blue Dog (Lakota), and Red Rhythm Band (Comanche/Kiowa). The Grammy award- winning CD, "Sacred Ground" is also up for two nominations.

"This year"s nominees feature an equal mix of new artists making their debut on the national circuit as well as previous Nammy Award winners and nominees." states Ellen Bello, Founder/CEO of the Native American Music Awards. All nominees were voted upon by the Awards" national Advisory membership and chosen among the 150 national contemporary and traditional music recordings originally submitted for nomination consideration. Winners of the Eighth Annual Native American Music Awards will be determined through membership print ballots and a national voting campaign open to the general public which will be posted shortly as a listen and vote system on the Nammys" website. The Native American Music Awards, Inc. is the country"s leading membership-based association composed of music industry professionals, musicians, programmers, producers, engineers and other professionals dedicated to promoting and preserving Native American music throughout the United States and around the world.

The Native American Music Awards and Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino are proud to present the Eighth Annual Native American Music Awards scheduled to take place June 8th at the Hard Rock Live in Hollywood, Florida. All tickets are on-sale now and available at Ticketmaster. The Native American Music Awards and Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino extend their sincerest congratulations to this year's nominees.

Visit http://www.nammys.com for more information.


Urban Culture News Eighth Annual Native American Music Awards

"This site is dedicated to the legacy of Tupac Shakur and all the other souljahs who dare to struggle; alive & dead"

The layout, text and images on this website are protected by (c) Copyright and may not be used or reproduced without written consent of [email protected].
No copyright is implied or expressed towards any of the pictures on the site except site images owned by ThugLifeArmy.com . ‘Hot linking’ of our content (images, text, audio and video) is strictly prohibited by law.
If our news articles are used we expect source credit and a live return link to be given to ThugLifeArmy.com.
The photograph of Tupac used on the home page is owned and copyrighted by Gobi. Photo is used with permission from Gobi to ThugLifeArmy.com. Many more of Gobi's photographs of Tupac can be seen in Gobi's book 'Thru My Eyes'.
Picture graphics and design are by [email protected] and [email protected] (Selphie)

Thug Life Army is a division of Star Sound Music Group®
7336 Santa Monica Boulevard, Suite 800 Hollywood, California 90046
E-mail: [email protected]
Privacy Policy | Contact Us | About Us | Sourcing Policy | DMCA | RSS Feed feed-image
(c) Copyright 2002-2024 www.thugelifearmy.com. All Rights Reserved