Sign up for TLA newsletter

Fill out your e-mail address
to receive our newsletter!
E-mail :


Urban Culture News Forgotten Classics by the Queens and Kings of Soul
Forgotten Classics by the Queens and Kings of Soul PDF Print E-mail
Written by Robert ID2833   
Tuesday, 11 July 2006 09:38

Rhino Records uncovers forgotten classics drawn from Atlantic's vast library and brings them together for a pair of single-disc compilations spotlighting rare recordings, Atlantic Unearthed: Soul Sisters and Atlantic Unearthed: Soul Brothers.

Both albums feature re-mastered versions of hard-to-find singles, some of which are making their CD debut; B-sides of hits and previously unreleased music by the kings and queens of soul. The albums are available now at digital and regular retail outlets and at www.rhino.com.

Atlantic Records was home to many of the legendary singers, songwriters and producers who defined the sweet sound of the early 1960s and ''70s soul.

SOUL SISTERS includes 16 tracks recorded between 1964 and 1974 featuring music from Aretha Franklin, Irma Thomas, Patti LaBelle and Barbara Lewis as well as a chorus of lesser-known singers deserving of more attention such as Doris Troy, Judy Clay and Baby Washington.

Franklin opens the collection by putting her unmistakable stamp on Frank Sinatra's signature showstopper, "My Way." Originally recorded in 1970, but only released on vinyl as part of an Italian compilation, the song is making its U.S. debut. SOUL SISTERS also includes five songs previously unreleased anywhere before: Margie Joseph's cover of The Temptations'' "It's Growing," their follow-up to the hit "My Girl"; Patti LaBelle & The Blue Belles'' 1969 recording of "(1-2-3-4-5-6-7) Count The Days," which was originally cut by brother-and-sister duo Inez and Charlie Foxx; a cover of the Fontella Bass classic "Rescue Me" recorded in 1970 at the famed Muscle Shoals studio by Dee Dee Warwick-Dionne's sister; "Ain''t Nothing Gonna Change Me" by The Sweet Inspirations, a quartet of back-up singers who stepped out of the background in 1968 for a string of R&B hits; and "I Ain''t That Easy To Lose" by Bettye Swann, who had hit in 1967 with "Make Me Yours."

SOUL SISTERS gives often overlooked artists their due with music by Esther Phillips, who recorded "Cheater Man" for Atlantic in 1967, a funky single penned by the celebrated writing team of Chips Moman and Dan Penn. The album also features former gospel singer, Laura Lee's "What A Man," a song released by Cotillion in 1969 as a B-side of "Separation Line."

SOUL BROTHERS presents 16 cuts recorded between 1967 and 1973 featuring music by Wilson Pickett, Otis Redding, Bobby Womack and Percy Sledge, as well as a talented group of underappreciated singers such as Arthur Conley, Percy Wiggins and James Carr.

"Can''t Stop A Man In Love," the album opener, is a previously unreleased gem by "Wicked" Wilson Pickett, the unforgettable R&B singer who died earlier this year. Recorded at Muscle Shoals in 1972, the song is one of the few remaining unreleased tracks by Pickett. SOUL BROTHERS features three more unreleased songs, including the unmistakable voice of Percy Sledge covering Aretha Franklin's hit "Baby, Baby, Baby"; "What A Woman Really Means," a song smooth-soul crooner Donny Hathaway recorded in 1973 during a session for his album Extensions Of A Man; and "Rome (Wasn''t Built In A Day)," a Sam Cooke cover recorded in 1967 by Arthur Conley, a singer discovered by fellow Georgian Otis Redding.

SOUL BROTHERS also highlights obscure but gifted singers with music by artists such as: Memphis-born Percy Wiggins, whose gorgeous first single, "Book Of Memories," was released on the Atco imprint in 1967; Ohio's Darrell Banks, who released "The Love Of My Woman" as the B-side to his lone 1968 Cotillion single, "I Wanna Go Home"; and Carl Hall, a passionate singer whose pensive, but soulful cut "Change With The Seasons" was originally released as the B-side to his Atlantic single "Need Somebody To Love."

You are invited to a Listening Party featuring 14 full songs from both CDs. Visit one of the sites below






Send an E-Card:



Track Listing

1. "My Way" - Aretha Franklin**

2. "It's Growing" - Margie Joseph*

3. "(1-2-3-4-5-6-7) Count The Days" - Patti LaBelle & The Blue Belles*

4. "Please Little Angel" - Doris Troy

5. "Hands Off My Baby" - Mary Wells

6. "My Best Friend's Man" - Dee Dee Sharp

7. "Rescue Me" - Dee Dee Warwick*

8. "What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted" - Baby Washington

9. "Full Time Woman" - Irma Thomas

10. "I Got To Love Somebody's Baby" - Judy Clay

11. "Cheater Man" - Esther Phillips

12. "What A Man" - Laura Lee

13. "Ain''t Nothing Gonna Change Me" - The Sweet Inspirations*

14. "It Ain''t Who You Know" - Jackie Moore

15. "I Ain''t That Easy To Lose" - Bettye Swann*

16. "Thankful For What I Got" - Barbara Lewis


Track Listing

1. "Can''t Stop A Man In Love" - Wilson Pickett*

2. "How Does It Feel" - Bobby Womack

3. "You Left The Water Running" - Sam & Dave

4. "Rome (Wasn''t Built In A Day)" - Arthur Conley*

5. "Book Of Memories" - Percy Wiggins

6. "That's How It Feels" - The Soul Clan

7. "I Love You More Than Words Can Say" - Otis Redding

8. "Baby, Baby, Baby" - Percy Sledge*

9. "Hold On" - James Carr

10. "Pouring Water On A Drowning Man" - Otis Clay

11. "Lovebones" - Mighty Sam

12. "The Love Of My Woman" - Darrell Banks

13. "Coldest Days Of My Life" - Walter Jackson

14. "Whiter Shade Of Pale" - R.B. Greaves

15. "Change With The Seasons" - Carl Hall

16. "What A Woman Really Means" - Donny Hathaway*

* Previously unissued

** Previously unissued in the U.S.

Urban Culture News Forgotten Classics by the Queens and Kings of Soul

"This site is dedicated to the legacy of Tupac Shakur and all the other souljahs who dare to struggle; alive & dead"

The layout, text and images on this website are protected by (c) Copyright and may not be used or reproduced without written consent of [email protected].
No copyright is implied or expressed towards any of the pictures on the site except site images owned by ThugLifeArmy.com . ‘Hot linking’ of our content (images, text, audio and video) is strictly prohibited by law.
If our news articles are used we expect source credit and a live return link to be given to ThugLifeArmy.com.
The photograph of Tupac used on the home page is owned and copyrighted by Gobi. Photo is used with permission from Gobi to ThugLifeArmy.com. Many more of Gobi's photographs of Tupac can be seen in Gobi's book 'Thru My Eyes'.
Picture graphics and design are by [email protected] and [email protected] (Selphie)

Thug Life Army is a division of Star Sound Music Group®
7336 Santa Monica Boulevard, Suite 800 Hollywood, California 90046
E-mail: [email protected]
Privacy Policy | Contact Us | About Us | Sourcing Policy | DMCA | RSS Feed feed-image
(c) Copyright 2002-2024 www.thugelifearmy.com. All Rights Reserved