Sign up for TLA newsletter

Fill out your e-mail address
to receive our newsletter!
E-mail :


News Hip Hop's Mr J Medeiros to Release Solo Debut
Hip Hop's Mr J Medeiros to Release Solo Debut PDF Print E-mail
Written by Robert ID3697   
Monday, 04 June 2007 04:55

In 1997, Mr. J Medeiros co-founded hip hop’s heroic underdog group, The Procussions, launching their 10-year journey to indie hip hop success; touring the globe three times over, travelling with A Tribe Called Quest, collaborating with hip hop super star Talib Kweli, and receiving critical acclaim from the likes of Billboard, Complex and URB. The Procussions have released two LP’s; 2003’s As Iron Sharpens Iron and sophomore LP, 5 Sparrows For 2 Cents, on Rawkus Records.

Mr. J Medeiros has always been passionate and honest with his lyrics (i.e. The Procussions’ “The Storm” and “Little People”), but with his solo-debut, Of gods and girls, (which will be released on 7-24-07) Mr. J displays veteran emcee versatility, substance and style, as he really opens up to discuss topics few artists have the depth to talk about. His single and video for “Constance” has spread like wildfire on Youtube, as it tackles the taboo topic of human trafficking in the Philippines. “Constance” was subsequently featured on CBS Evening News for its exposé on human trafficking and internet pornography.

Numerous artists talk about saving the world, but Mr. J practices what he preaches by devoting a great deal of his time to special interest activities. He has served in Americorps NCCC, worked in a High School with special needs students, worked with a community outreach program that fights for the rights of persons with developmental disabilities, served as a volunteer fighter-fighter, helped build homes with “Habitat For Humanity” and has recently built a partnership with iamcoming.org; a non-profit, anti-human trafficking organization.

Further illustrating his growth as an artist, Mr. J handles the bulk of the production himself, including the incredible “Keep Pace,” “Silent Earth,” and his ode to his mother and father’s unconditional love on “Call You.” Of gods and girls finds Mr. J rekindling his chemistry with Procussions members Rez, who joins Strange Fruit on the Illmind (of G-Unit fame) produced “Change”, and Stro the 89th Key, who produces “Strangers” and “Honest Man’s Hustle.” Long-time friend, Pigeon John assists on “Money” an anthem for those with checking account woes. Although complimented by top-notch guests, J carries the weight of this album on his own shoulders, delivering stimulating dialogue from track to track and showing a glimpse of humor amidst an honest and sober dose of reality. Mr. J comments, “a lot of these songs were written at a time when I was broke and when I felt truly alone. Of gods and girls stems from that.  It’s very personal.” 

Rawkus Records’ Co-founder Jarret Meyer waxes passionately about Mr. J Medeiros and what he brings to the label as an artist, stating, “In terms of content and artistry, Mr J. ranks among the top artists I have had the pleasure of working with. But, what separates Mr J. as an individual is an unrelenting DIY punk spirit. He is definitely a career artist who will continue to make a big impact on music and culture.”

Tracklisting and credits for Mr. J Medeiros Of Gods And Girls:

1.) Amelie f/20Syl of Hocus Pocus (produced by 20Syl)

2.) Silent Earth (produced by Mr. J Medeiros)

3.) Strangers (produced by Stro the 89th Key)

4.) Constance (produced by Mr. J Medeiros)

5.) Change f/Strange Fruit and Rez of Procussions (produced by Illmind)

6.) King Of Rock Bottom f/DJ Vajra (produced by Joe Beats)

7.) Half A Dream f/Marty James of One Block Radius (produced by 20Syl)

8.) Keep Pace (produced by Mr. J Medeiros)

9.) Money f/Pigeon John and DJ Vajra (produced by Stro the 89th Key)

10.) Her Wings (produced by Headnodic)

11.) Apathy f/DJ Vajra (produced by 20Syl)

12.) Call You (produced by Mr. J Medeiros)

13.) Honest Man’s Hustle (produced by Stro the 89th Key)

14.) Constance Remix (produced by Joey Beats)

15.) Silent Earth Remix (produced by Ohmega Watts)

16.) Keep Pace Remix (produced by Stro the 89th Key)

Find out more at:






News Hip Hop's Mr J Medeiros to Release Solo Debut

"This site is dedicated to the legacy of Tupac Shakur and all the other souljahs who dare to struggle; alive & dead"

The layout, text and images on this website are protected by (c) Copyright and may not be used or reproduced without written consent of [email protected].
No copyright is implied or expressed towards any of the pictures on the site except site images owned by ThugLifeArmy.com . ‘Hot linking’ of our content (images, text, audio and video) is strictly prohibited by law.
If our news articles are used we expect source credit and a live return link to be given to ThugLifeArmy.com.
The photograph of Tupac used on the home page is owned and copyrighted by Gobi. Photo is used with permission from Gobi to ThugLifeArmy.com. Many more of Gobi's photographs of Tupac can be seen in Gobi's book 'Thru My Eyes'.
Picture graphics and design are by [email protected] and [email protected] (Selphie)

Thug Life Army is a division of Star Sound Music Group®
7336 Santa Monica Boulevard, Suite 800 Hollywood, California 90046
E-mail: [email protected]
Privacy Policy | Contact Us | About Us | Sourcing Policy | DMCA | RSS Feed feed-image
(c) Copyright 2002-2024 www.thugelifearmy.com. All Rights Reserved