Sign up for TLA newsletter

Fill out your e-mail address
to receive our newsletter!
E-mail :


News Marco Polo Releases Debut Hip Hop LP 'Port Authority
Marco Polo Releases Debut Hip Hop LP 'Port Authority PDF Print E-mail
Written by Robert ID3272   
Tuesday, 30 January 2007 14:58

Rawkus Records has a cherished and indelible place in the hip hop history books, as it was the preeminent label of hip hops glory age.  More then a label, the name became a motto for what was right with hip hop, and over the course of its storied history, became the model for all independent labels that followed in its wake. Now, Rawkus is back, and in doing so ushers in its rebirth with the same ideology it previously used to become a powerhouse - delivering quality music!

Known for having an ear for and developing talent - after all, Mos Def, Talib Kweli, Pharoahe Monche, Hi-Tek, El-P and the talent found on the Soundbombing Projects were initially discovered, housed, and made their name with Rawkus - the labels eye for talent will be responsible for turning its latest additions into stars as well. And in 2007 they will continue to do so with Marco Polos debut LP Port Authority.

While Marco was born and raised in Toronto, after moving to NYC in 2002, hes already made a name for himself in four short years working with artists of such caliber as The Boot Camp Click (The Last Standon which he produced the LPs lead single), Masta Ace (A Long Hot Summer), and you will find his distinctive production included on upcoming projects from Heltah Skeltah, Large Professor, Buckshot, O.C., and EMC (collaborative group featuring Masta Ace, Wordsworth and Punchline), among many others.  Marco is also a respected alumni member of The Beat Society, with four shows under his belt.

Already featured in Scratch Magazines highly-influential Boiling Point section in their Jan/Feb 2007 issue and recently named to Urb Magazines Next 100 list for 2007, Marcos entirely self-produced debut, Port Authority, (which will be released on 5-1-07) offers up the best of both worlds: an LP that seamlessly meshes collaborations with legendary hip hop and rap names such as Kool G Rap, Masta Ace, Buckshot, Large Professor, Sadat X, O.C., AG, Ju Ju (Beatnuts) Ed O.G. and Kardinal Offishall, with the top up-and-coming lyricists of today including Copywrite, Kenn Starr, Jo Jo Pellegrino, Supastition, Roc Marciano (The U.N.) and J Davey.

Port Authority was a labor of love for Marco.  As he laments, This album represents the last three years of my life; my big move to NY from Toronto four years ago and the musical growth Ive gone through while finishing it.  It represents a part of hip-hop that is slowly and undeniably withering away.  This album also represents my efforts to unite dope artists and make music that has lasting power.  My project is not a compilation, its my Soul Survivor (Pete Rock) and Port Authority will attest to that!  People that loved Rawkus back in the day, this album will remind you why as it takes things back to the classic era of Rawkus Records.

While Marco Polos Port Authority will kick off Rawkus calendar year in grand style on 5-1-07, the label has also unveiled some of the projects that will permanently re-establish Rawkus Records as a powerhouse label.  Those projects include the re-release of Naledge and Double-Os Kidz In The Hall debut School Was My Hustle, the official Soundtrack to Bruce Willis and Queen Latifahs present: Hip Hop Project, Hezekiahs I Predict A Riot, the fourth installment of Gurus (Gang Starr) Jazzmatazz 4, Panaceas sophomore LP Scenic Route, Rawkus Presents: Soundbombing 4, The Procussions sophomore LP and Naledges solo-debut Naledge Is Power.

Rawkus is back in the building, and the razor is sharper then ever!

By clicking on the following link it will take you directly to Windows and Real Audio to download Port Authoritys lead single, War Marco Polo f/Kardinal Offishal and Hood Tales Marco Polo f/ Kool G Rap and DV Alias Khryst:


Tracklisting and credits for Marco Polos Port Authority:

1.) Port Authority Intro f/O.C.

2.) Get Busy f/ Copywrite

3.) Marquee f/ O.C.

4.) War f/Kardinal Offishall

5.) Nostalgia f/ Masta Ace

6.) The Wrong One f/ Wordsworth

7.) Low Budget All Stars f/ Kev Brown, Kenn Starr, Oddisee, Cy Young & Kaimbr

8.) Speak Softly f/ Jo Jo Pellegrino

9.) Time And Place f/ Ed O.G.

10.) The Radar f/ Large Professor

11.) All My Love f/ Jaysaun

12.) Lay It Down f/ Roc Marciano of The U.N.

13.) Go Around f/ Buckshot

14.) Hood Tales f/ Kool G. Rap & DV Alias Khryst

15.) Heat f/ Supastition

16.) Rollin f/ Sadat X, AG & Ju Ju of The Beatnuts

17.) For The Future f/ Critically Acclaimed

18.) Relax f/ J. Davey "Relax" (Bonus Track)






News Marco Polo Releases Debut Hip Hop LP 'Port Authority

"This site is dedicated to the legacy of Tupac Shakur and all the other souljahs who dare to struggle; alive & dead"

The layout, text and images on this website are protected by (c) Copyright and may not be used or reproduced without written consent of [email protected].
No copyright is implied or expressed towards any of the pictures on the site except site images owned by ThugLifeArmy.com . ‘Hot linking’ of our content (images, text, audio and video) is strictly prohibited by law.
If our news articles are used we expect source credit and a live return link to be given to ThugLifeArmy.com.
The photograph of Tupac used on the home page is owned and copyrighted by Gobi. Photo is used with permission from Gobi to ThugLifeArmy.com. Many more of Gobi's photographs of Tupac can be seen in Gobi's book 'Thru My Eyes'.
Picture graphics and design are by [email protected] and [email protected] (Selphie)

Thug Life Army is a division of Star Sound Music Group®
7336 Santa Monica Boulevard, Suite 800 Hollywood, California 90046
E-mail: [email protected]
Privacy Policy | Contact Us | About Us | Sourcing Policy | DMCA | RSS Feed feed-image
(c) Copyright 2002-2023 www.thugelifearmy.com. All Rights Reserved