Sign up for TLA newsletter

Fill out your e-mail address
to receive our newsletter!
E-mail :


Current Releases Diary Of A Mad Black Woman Soundtrack
Diary Of A Mad Black Woman Soundtrack PDF Print E-mail
Written by Site Staff ID1158   
Tuesday, 12 April 2005 06:32


Rowdy Records, in association with Universal/Motown Records will release one of the year's most inspirational soundtracks, Diary Of A Mad Black Woman (Soundtrack).

The uplifting compilation co-produced by Rowdy Records founder and acclaimed producer Dallas Austin, will hit stores April 19th. The low budget film's surprising rise to the top of the box office was largely due to the efforts of its innovative writer and producer, African American playwright Tyler Perry, who is also a key motivating/creative force behind the creation of the soundtrack.

The film, which opened at #1, prominently showcases music from the soundtrack.  The 12-song CD will feature a breathtaking array of female singers, including Motown's own India.Arie, who delivers the disc's first single, "Purify Me“. Listen to “Purify Me” by India Arie  HERE .

Diary Of A Mad Black Woman, the soundtrack, also features new songs by such great singers as Natalie Cole, Angie Stone, Cheryl Pepsi Riley, Patti LaBelle and Tamia, among others.

The collection of songs is crucial to the film's religious infused plot, about an African American woman, Helen, (played by Kimberly Elise) tossed out of her mansion by her successful but philandering husband.  The character soon finds herself on a journey of self exploration and rebirth that reunites her with her spiritual and family ties. 

The film, which opened at #1 with an estimated weekend ticket sales of 22 million, showcases some of the music contained in the soundtrack

Diary of a Mad Black Woman (SOUNDTRACK) in stores April 19th.


1. Purify Me - India Arie

2. Sick And Tired - Monica

3. Different Directions - Angie Stone

4. Things I Collected - Tamia

5. I Wanna Swing - Cheryl Pepsi Riley

6. I Wanna Love Again - Natalie Cole

7. Fallen In Love - Darlene McCoy

8. Ain''t It Funny - Heather Headley

9. One Of Us - Cheryl Pepsi Riley

10. I Wanna Be Free - Patti Labelle

11. Father Can You Hear Me - Tamela Mann

12. Take It To Jesus - Tamela Mann

Current Releases Diary Of A Mad Black Woman Soundtrack

"This site is dedicated to the legacy of Tupac Shakur and all the other souljahs who dare to struggle; alive & dead"

The layout, text and images on this website are protected by (c) Copyright and may not be used or reproduced without written consent of [email protected].
No copyright is implied or expressed towards any of the pictures on the site except site images owned by ThugLifeArmy.com . ‘Hot linking’ of our content (images, text, audio and video) is strictly prohibited by law.
If our news articles are used we expect source credit and a live return link to be given to ThugLifeArmy.com.
The photograph of Tupac used on the home page is owned and copyrighted by Gobi. Photo is used with permission from Gobi to ThugLifeArmy.com. Many more of Gobi's photographs of Tupac can be seen in Gobi's book 'Thru My Eyes'.
Picture graphics and design are by [email protected] and [email protected] (Selphie)

Thug Life Army is a division of Star Sound Music Group®
7336 Santa Monica Boulevard, Suite 800 Hollywood, California 90046
E-mail: [email protected]
Privacy Policy | Contact Us | About Us | Sourcing Policy | DMCA | RSS Feed feed-image
(c) Copyright 2002-2023 www.thugelifearmy.com. All Rights Reserved