Sign up for TLA newsletter

Fill out your e-mail address
to receive our newsletter!
E-mail :


Current Releases Rap Icon Tupac's Poetry 'The Rose Vol 2' Drops 92005
Rap Icon Tupac's Poetry 'The Rose Vol 2' Drops 92005 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Site Admin. ID1879   
Wednesday, 07 September 2005 06:55

On September 20th, a number of hip-hop and R&B's top artists will take a brand new approach to using Tupac Shakur's poetry in song, paying tribute to the late rapper in his own words on "The Rose, Vol. 2 - Music Inspired by Tupac's Poetry." Unlike its predecessor, "The Rose, Vol. 2" is not a spoken word album -- instead, each musical artist has taken inspiration from one of the poems in Tupac's "The Rose that Grew from Concrete" book and used portions of the poems to build their own original songs, with Tupac's poetry serving as their muse.

Released by Amaru Entertainment, "The Rose, Vol. 2" features 15 fresh tracks from an array of genres, including rap, hip-hop, soul and R&B offerings. The guest artists on "The Rose, Vol. 2" include Ludacris, Lyfe Jennings, Bone Thugs -N- Harmony, The Outlawz, Memphis Bleek, and Talib Kweli, among others.

Celina Nixon, a former member of "Pac's Kids" (the students of the annual Tupac Summer Performing Arts Camp) and now the Artistic Director for the Tupac Amaru Shakur Foundation (TASF), provides the song, "The Eternal Lament," while another piece -- a poem and vocal solo blend entitled "Poetry" -- is written and performed by current "Pac's Kids" Morgan McKenzie (16 years old) and Amber Granderson (15 years old). It is especially noteworthy that Celina Nixon, Morgan McKenzie and Amber Granderson are three talented young women who all honed their musical skills through attending the Tupac Summer Performing Arts Camp year after year.

Perhaps the most unexpected appearance comes from Digital Underground's Shock G (AKA Humpty Hump), the man most responsible for launching 2Pac's solo career, by giving him his first prominent introduction and then allowing him the chance to perform his own verse on the Underground's smash hit single, "Same Song."

The track listing for "The Rose Vol. 2" is as follows:

1. Intro feat. Black Ice

2. Power of a Smile feat. Bone Thugs N Harmony

3. The Eternal Lament feat. Celina

4. Fallen Star feat. Talib Kwali

5. In The Depths of Solitude feat. Ludacris

6. Movin On feat. Lyfe Jennings

7. Life Through My Eyes feat. Memphis Bleek & Tupac

8. When Ure Heart Turns Cold feat. The Outlawz

9. Black Woman feat. Jamal Joseph & Che Davis

10. Only 4 The Righteous feat. Yoyo

11. Where There is a Will... feat. Boot Camp Clik

12. When Ur Hero Falls feat. Impact Kids

13. And 2morrow feat. Shock G

14. If I Fail feat. Dead Prez

15. Poetry by Amber & Morgan of Pacskids

Current Releases Rap Icon Tupac's Poetry 'The Rose Vol 2' Drops 92005

"This site is dedicated to the legacy of Tupac Shakur and all the other souljahs who dare to struggle; alive & dead"

The layout, text and images on this website are protected by (c) Copyright and may not be used or reproduced without written consent of [email protected].
No copyright is implied or expressed towards any of the pictures on the site except site images owned by ThugLifeArmy.com . ‘Hot linking’ of our content (images, text, audio and video) is strictly prohibited by law.
If our news articles are used we expect source credit and a live return link to be given to ThugLifeArmy.com.
The photograph of Tupac used on the home page is owned and copyrighted by Gobi. Photo is used with permission from Gobi to ThugLifeArmy.com. Many more of Gobi's photographs of Tupac can be seen in Gobi's book 'Thru My Eyes'.
Picture graphics and design are by [email protected] and [email protected] (Selphie)

Thug Life Army is a division of Star Sound Music Group®
7336 Santa Monica Boulevard, Suite 800 Hollywood, California 90046
E-mail: [email protected]
Privacy Policy | Contact Us | About Us | Sourcing Policy | DMCA | RSS Feed feed-image
(c) Copyright 2002-2024 www.thugelifearmy.com. All Rights Reserved