Turk - Penitentiary Chances Print
Written by Westside ID63   
Sunday, 26 September 2004 08:42


Track Listing

1. Live From The Lab (feat. KeNoe)
2. Raw & Off The Chain
3. Doin’ My Thing (feat. KeNoe)
4. Killer
5. I’m A Dog
6. Do It For The Money
7. Life’s A Gamble
8. You Put It Together (Remix)
9. Music Makes Me High (feat. Lil Man)
10. All I Got In The World (feat. KeNoe)
11. Heartache

New Orleans-based rapper Turk was first discovered in 1996 when the owners of Cash Money Records (brothers Ronald "Slim" Williams and Bryan "Baby" Williams) discovered him rapping and rhyming in the nearby Magnolia projects. Later that same year, Turk made his recording debut with a cameo on Juvenile's solo debut, Solja Rags. Turk was billed as Young Turk and welcomed into the newly formed Hot Boys (who also included Juvenile, B.G., and Lil'' Wayne), issuing Get It How You Live! in 1997 and Guerilla Warfare two years later. Turk continued to make cameos on other rapper's recordings, including Juvenile's big hits 400 Degreez and Tha G-Code, Lil'' Wayne's Tha Block Is Hot and Lights Out, as well as B.G.'s It's All on You, Vol. 1 and It's All on You, Vol. 2. June 2001 saw the release of Turk's solo debut, Young and Thuggin'', on Universal Records. It’s certified gold. The rapper’s follow-up album and Raw & Uncut was released on KOCH Records/Laboratory Recordz in August of ’03.

Turk’s been in the headlines recently after his recent arrest down south in what is turning out to be high profile police shooting. Currently serving time, his bail has been recently reduced. The case hasn’t gone to trial yet. If you’re interested in making a contribution to his defense fund, please make a written inquiry to the following:

Tab "TURK" Virgil Legal Defense Fund
c/o Da King And I Management LLC
P.O. Box 73131
Baton Rouge, LA 70874-